Customer Segment
Metric Name | Definition |
---|---|
Customers | The number of customers who have placed an order at least once. |
Repeat Customer Rate | The proportion of repeat customers (those who have purchased a total of 2 or more times) |
Lifetime Value | The average CLV over all customers and all periods |
Order Value | The average value of purchase price per customer |
Order Count | The average value of total number of purchase per customer |
Purchase Interval | The average number of days between purchases per customer |
Customer Detail
Metric | Definition |
---|---|
Total Order Count | The total number of purchases by the customer over the entire period |
Total Order Value | The total purchase amount by the customer over the entire period |
First Purchase Date | The date the customer made their first purchase |
Last Purchase Date | The date the customer last made a purchase at the store |
Data Name | Definition |
---|---|
Order Name | The order number displayed on Shopify |
Order At | The date and time the order was completed. |
Order Value | The total amount of the order. This includes shipping fees and taxes. |
Products | The registered name (title) of the ordered product in Shopify. |
Order Tags | Tags associated with the order at the time of purchase. |
Revenue Tracking
Metric | Definition |
---|---|
Customers | The latest number of customer in the customer segment targeted for tracking |
Revenue | Revenue from purchases of the target customer segment during the measurement period |
Total Order Count | The number of purchases from the target customer segments during the measurement period |
Purchase Rate | Purchase ratio during the measurement period (number of purchases / number of customers) |
Cohorts
Cohorts vs Months
Label | Definition |
---|---|
First Purchase Month | For example, for "2021-12", this refers to "Customers who made their first purchase in December 2021” |
First Purchase | Aggregation for the first purchase (only for Lifetime Value) |
Mn | Months from first purchase (Shown as M0, M1, ..., Mn). For example, if the first purchase month is 2021-12, M0 refers to within 30 days from purchase, and M1 refers to within 60 days from purchase. |
Over all time | The result of aggregating the selected entire period |
Metric | Definition |
---|---|
Lifetime Value | For example, for "2021-12 × M3", if you assume that there were 100 customers who made their first purchase in December 2021, and by the end of March 2022 (3 months later), they had purchased a total of $1,000, the 3 months-Lifetime Value would be calculated as $1,000 ÷ 100 people = $10. |
CVR to 2nd Purchase | The percentage of customers who made their first purchase in the “first purchase month” and made a second purchase at Mn point. Example: If 100 customers made their first purchase in April 2022, and 10 of them made a second purchase within 1 months (within 30 days), the CVR to 2nd would be 10.0% for M0. |
CVR to 3rd Purchase | The percentage of customers who made their first purchase in the “first purchase month” and made a third purchase at Mn point. Example: If 100 customers made their first purchase in April 2022, and 5 of them made a third purchase within 2 months (within 60 days), the CVR to 3rd would be 5.0% at M1. |
CVR to 4th Purchase | The percentage of customers who made their first purchase in the “first purchase month” and made a fourth purchase at Mn point. |
CVR to 5th Purchase | The percentage of customers who made their first purchase in the “first purchase month” and made a fifth purchase at Mn point. |
Cohorts vs Nth
Metric | Definition |
---|---|
First Purchase Month | For example, for "2021-12", this refers to "Customers who made their first purchase in December 2021” |
Fn | Nth of purchase (Shown as F1, F2, ..., Fn) of each customer. |
Over all time | The result of aggregating the selected entire period |
Metric | Definition |
---|---|
Customers | Number of Customers at Fn or more. For example, “Customers = 100 at F2” refers that 100 customers in the cohort placed more than two orders. |
Avg Order Value | Average order value at Fn purchase. For example, “Avg Order Value = $100 at F3” refers that customers in the cohort spent $100 at their 3rd purchase on average. |
Retention Rate | Retention rate from Fn-1 to Fn. |
Purchase Interval | Average days between purchases from Fn-1 to Fn. |
Author
ECPower Product ManagerEdited and supervised by Product Manager of ECPower - Shopify Customer Segment & Journey Management, supporting Shopify merchants' CLV growth, CRM strategy and data analytics.
Change log
Jul 13 2023 Article Published
Jan 1 2024 Updated